Long time no see – celebratory yarn splurge

I meant to write a bunch of things. I was going to write about all the knitted christmas gifts, but when I still hadn’t found time to do it in Februari it felt kind of pointless.

Honestly, it’s been a tough half year with loads and loads of work, and a really tough pregnancy on top of that. Sometime in March I was put on medical leave, in an attempt to reduce stress. The little munchkin inhabiting my body wasn’t growing quite as expected. I thought I’d have so much knitting time, but the truth is I had very little energy, especially towards the end of the pregnancy.

I actually became very sick, developed preeclampsia, and in the end, severe HELLP syndrome. I was in pretty bad shape for a while, with kidneys and liver badly affected from the pregnancy, skyhigh bloodpressure, and crappy blood values. I still haven’t fully recovered, still eating medicine to control my blood pressure, and I’m tired beyond what is normal when you have a newborn. I feel like I’ve lost about half my body weight in fluids, and my body is full of bruises caused by my blood not coagulating properly.

This is what it looks like when your blood isn't clotting and every little needle pinch leaves a huge painful mark.

This is what it looks like when your blood isn’t clotting and every little needle pinch leaves a huge painful mark.

Since my previous child was also a preemie, I knew what was coming, with tube feedings and milk pumping, and hospital visits and all that. It could be alot worse, an little baby boy Noah, born in week 33 + 6, and weighing in at a whooping 1690 grams, is suprisingly well, and resilient. Now that we’re finally at home I’m actually relieved that this pregnancy and really scary experience is over.

Little baby Noah, about to take his first bath. One of the few pictures without tubes and stuff.

Little baby Noah, about to take his first bath. One of the few pictures without tubes and stuff.

I know this post is a bit off topic. Here comes the on topic. To celebrate my hospital discharge, I decided to treat myself to some yarn. Near the hospital I was admitted to, there’s a yarn shop about to be sold. They’re called Ekens garn, and they’re selling out their stock at a 40-50% reduction. Needless to say, I went a bit nuts, and my stash is now officially full.

the whole pile of yarn

So in the end, here’s what I came home with:

8 skeins of light blue alpakka silke, from Sandnes Garn

8 skeins of light blue alpakka silke, from Sandnes Garn

9 skeins of line from Sandnes Garn in natural white

9 skeins of line from Sandnes Garn in natural white

I couldn't resist this colorful shawl yarn in beautiful  blues and purples from Schoeller+Stahl called Daphne

I couldn’t resist this colorful shawl yarn in beautiful blues and purples from Schoeller+Stahl called Daphne

3 skeins of white mini duett, also from Sandnes Garn

3 skeins of white mini duett, also from Sandnes Garn

2 Skeins of dark and 2 skeins of lighter purple of Lanett Babyull, also from Sandnes Garn.

  

I also bought a selection of Mandarin Petit yarns, from Sandnes Garn. I’m thinking a nice summer baby blanket for baby Noah.

Well, there you have it. A full stash indeed. Now, if I can just get some sleep and knitting done in between tube feedings, that would be great. Until next time.

This entry was posted in yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Long time no see – celebratory yarn splurge

  1. Pingback: Striped Stripes | The everyday life of a nerdy knitting junky

  2. Pingback: My gradient Hifotude | The everyday life of a nerdy knitting junky

  3. Pingback: Striped Stripes | The everyday life of a nerdy knitting junky

  4. Pingback: Bad christmas mojo and thoughts on ripping | The everyday life of a nerdy knitting junky

  5. Pingback: Snawheid in the hospital | The everyday life of a nerdy knitting junky

Leave a Reply

