Knitted baby blanket with Jersey lining

In anticipation of baby Noah’s arrival I did get some knitting done. One of the first things I decided to do was a baby blanket, because let’s face it, that’s one item you can’t have enough of. I decided for a thicker stranded blanket, because the climate in Sweden would allow me to get more usage out of it. I also felt I needed to improve my knitting when it comes to multi-colored stranded knitting, because I haven’t done much of that. I choose a free pattern from Norwegian Viking Garn.

I used the yarn Alpaca Sport in light grey, grey and white. It was a really fun knit, and the blanket was knit in the round then machine sewn and cut, something I was quite nervous about since I’d never done that before.

20150317_15071420150414_09463220150414_094650

I figured we might use the blanket to wrap the baby in, and all those loose strands on the backside could harm the baby or get stuck, so I decided to line the blanket with some soft Jersey fabric, which I bought online from tyg.se, together with sewing thread in matching grey. My sewing machine doesn’t do in visibel seams, so I went for plain straight seam. I’m not great at sewing but I think the end result turned out pretty good.

20150414_144820

And of course, it’s now Noah’s favorite blanket, since it’s bigger and a bit thicker than our other blankets and it keeps him just the right temperature.

You can find the yardage and details about the project on ravelry.

This entry was posted in finished object, knitting, sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

