Baby Noah’s new outfits

After my first child was born, I actually told myself I wouldn’t knit clothing for a newborn next time around. It takes too long and they grow out of their clothes really fast. But there are so many baby patterns that are so cute I couldn’t help myself. I fell in love with these two patterns and just had to do them.

The first item I knitted was the baby overall. It’s in size 6 months and I used a leftover yellow baby merino from drops garnstudio, that I already had in my stash, and ordered some more of the same yarn in white. The pretty little golden anchor buttons where bought on an auction off Swedish eBay.

2015-04-10 13.22.51

20150410_132059I chose yellow and white because we never did find out the sex of the baby in advance, and yellow seemed like a safe and gender neutral choice. I got some comments on how the cables look a bit feminine, but who cares, it’s a baby, and he doesn’t have to be butch from the start. He can just be cute instead.

I didn’t really make any modifications to the pattern. I contemplated knitting it in the round but I wanted the overalls both to be easy to wear and change baby diapers in, so instead of leaving the back open, like the pattern suggests, I ended up not seaming the crotch and inside of the leg, instead I added a button band and snaps. 20150410_132126

My rookie mistake here was to not properly measure the button band so that it was equally long on both legs, which is why it looks a bit wonky. Well, considering I suck at sewing and this being my first button band, I think I can survive the mistake.


The second item I decided to knit was a body from Drops garnstudio. I figured the colors where a bit boring so I knitted it in bright green and mint (also baby merino from Drops Garnstudio). In retrospect it didn’t turn out as good as I’d hoped.

The knitting was kind of boring, but I did most of it in the hospital right after giving birth so my head wasn’t really in the game for anything more complicated than that.

Baby Noah is still on the small side, so it’s going to be a while until he can wear any of this. I’ll have to remember to add an update to the post, or better yet just add a new one, as soon as he can wear the stuff.

As a bonus, once we got home from the hospital, and I realized I didn’t have a single shred of clothing that actually fit my son, and despite buying some preemie clothing, the hats where still way too big, I knitted a little hat from some of the yellow leftover baby merino used for the overall. The pattern is swirly hat, and it’s very adaptable and a fast knit, which was exactly what I needed.

As usual you can find more info about yardage and such on ravelry.

This entry was posted in finished object, knitting, sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Baby Noah’s new outfits

  1. eliseholden says:

    Noah, beautiful name and child ! Very darling knit outfits.

  2. eliseholden says:

    Reblogged this on Musings and commented:
    Very darling knit outfits.

  3. Pingback: My gradient Hifotude | The everyday life of a nerdy knitting junky

Leave a Reply

