Striped Stripes

It’s been a slow week knitting-wise. The whole family has been on vacation, which means we have the 2.5 year old running wild around the house, all the while little Noah has been quite colicky. We’ve switched over to dairy-free diet, as well as a formula free from milk protein, hoping the little fellow will sleep more and be less cranky. Today, we’re back to normal, with husband at work, older child at day-care, and me and “little cranky” around the house.

Before chaos erupted I did manage to finish a little dress I fell in love with, the first time I saw it. I don’t have a daughter of my own, but I do have a niece, so I instantly decided this would make a perfect christmas or birthday gift. I also had the perfect yarn for the contrast color, which I’ve been struggling to find projects for. I always buy variegated yarns, but since I mostly like structural knitting, I end up not knowing exactly what to do with them. 

This particular yarn is a thin merino yarn bought from Norwegian Pickles, called Abuelita. The effect of the short strands of different shades of pink and purple create a sort of stripes within stripes effect, which I think is pretty cool. As a main color I decided to use white, and while splurging after my hospitalization I found a nice, white cotton merino blend, in the right weight.

IMG_0230Intarsia and stripes is tricky. The knitting went from being the perfect TV knitting, to a tangle of 5 different bobbins to keep track of. Not to mention the fact that being tired and sleep depraved I failed to properly read the pattern, not once, but twice, having to rip out the second part of the dress in it’s entirety.

I knitted the dress in the round, up until you start decreasing and knitting intarsia. The first two times I also started knitting the upper body in the round, thinking I could do that until it was time to shape the armholes and shoulders, but after ripping the upper body the second time I decided to do the whole front and back separately to minimize the time you have to spend untangling five skeins and to speed up the knitting somewhat. It’s still minimal seaming. I used the technique of lifting the first stitch of the second row in one color, to minimize and visible color change. I think it turned out pretty ok.IMG_0212

I also found an excellent tutorial of knitting intarsia “in the round”. Obviously you can’t knit intarsia in the round because of the bobbins being in the wrong place. You have to actually turn your work, but you can still minimize seaming this way, if you’re like me and loath that part of a knitting project. Basically you knit until the end of  the row and do a wrap and turn of the first stitch of the next row.

I’m a stubborn person, and I very rarely give up on a knitting, especially if I really like the end result, so I trudged on, cursing and swearing. Worth it? Yes I think so.


As usual you can find details on yardage and needles on my ravelry project page.

This entry was posted in finished object, knitting, yarn and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Striped Stripes

  1. Pingback: Christmas in August | The everyday life of a nerdy knitting junky

Leave a Reply

