Hard decisions and a busy week

Last week was a slightly crazy week. Eliah (my oldest) was at home from daycare on fall break. Basically, because I’m on maternity leave, he has to spend all breaks at home, instead of pre-school. He’s not really built for sitting around the house, so he’s being a general chaos monkey and keeping me on my toes, and this week was no different.

All the while the little one went going through a fussy period again. So he was basically crying at the top of his lungs whenever I put him down. I’ve had a few hectic days.

And to top it all off, I got the flu. Or some really nasty cold anyways. I had a pretty high fever and basically stopped functioning somewhere around Wednesday. It went on all through the weekend, and I spent what little me-time I had in bed. Thankfully my husband had some vacation days he has to spend before going on parental leave in January, so he was off work and could hang out with the boys while I felt sorry for myself.

Anyways, the week flew by, and on Monday I went on vacation, crossing the big pond to New Mexico, to visit my sister who currently lives in Clovis. I brought Noah and left Eliah in the excellent care of his father who is supportive of my need for some quiet time (and yes, he is perfect, thankyou for asking).  We had some adventures, which involved me almost missing my connecting flight in Chicago, I’ll tell you all about it next time around. I’m not sure I’ve fully recovered from my extremely tough pregnancy, and we’ve had some really tough and stressful months, with colics, food allergies, colds, infections and just generally me, being spread way too thin. So to keep my sanity, I’m going to stay with my sister for two weeks, and catch a break from everyday life and daycare dropoffs and pickups.

I’m hoping to find some nice yarn shop either in Clovis or maybe if we go to Lubbock. We’ll see, I’ll have to do some googling. I’m not really supposed to buy any more yarn, but vacation shopping doesn’t count, right? Right?

Friday fun when the yarn winder acts up and leaves a mess


On the knitting side of things I’ve had some difficult decisions and frustration with my yarn winder. I decided to join the ongoing Supernatural KAL. I’m a pretty big fan of the show, and I need shawls, so why not? Unfortunately the pattern calls for 1200 yards of fingering weight yarn. The only entry in my stash matching that description is a nice betty-draper blue from madelinetosh, I’ve been saving for an Emelie cardigan. I wound up the yarn, and came to the realization the the new yarn winder I bought last summer really, really sucks – it basically turned my skein into a mess, that I had to untangle and wind by hand. And after I spent all this time unfu**ing the yarn, I had a change of heart. I don’t know. I kind of really want that yarn to become an Emelie cardigan. A supernatural theme doesn’t really fit with the color – it calls for something more dramatic, or darker. On the other hand, I really want to start shawl-making. So I’m just staring at the yarn doing nothing. Right now, I’m leaning towards buying something specifically for the KAL in the US, and starting the KAL there.

So that’s where I’m at. Not expecting this week to be particularly productive knitting wise. However, stay tuned for new stash entries from across the sea.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

