New years resolutions crafting style

So it’s this time of year again, where people start making promised they can’t keep. I’m not usually a person that does new years resolutions. I’m notoriously bad at comitting to things just because it’s a new year. I need a better reason than that. When I quit with snus (Swedish tobacco pouches you put under your lip), it wasn’t a new year, I just felt that enough was enough and decided, and that was that. So that’s how I roll with the typical stuff, people usually make resolutions about. And let’s face it, if your new years resolution isn’t realistic, there’s no real point to it.

However, I am prepared to make a few crafting comitments. My goals for next year are pretty concrete. In my experience, it’s the only way you’re ever going to actually complete anything.

  • Finish and diminish – knit more from stash, and get rid of odd skeins or left-overs. I have around 70 stash entries on ravelry, and allthough I’m sure I will add more to it, next year (cause you know I can’t resist), the goal is to use up at least 10 entries from 2015 or older.
  • Knit more accessories – knit 2 shawls, 2 hats and 2 gloves / mittens / fingerless.
  • Sweater bonanza – the sweater / cardigan goal for 2016 is to knit 2-3 sweaters of any type.
  • Buy more luxury – My stash is quite full of all kinds of yarns, and theoretically I have enough to last me through 2016, therefor I will try to keep my yarn purchases to a minimum (buy only if something is missing for a specific project), However there are yarns I’ve been longing for. Luxurious pretty, shiny, precious (I’m beginning to sound like Gollum) skeins of yarn, I’ve been eyeing for ages. Plucky knitter yarn is allowed. I will also sign up for an NBK yarn club at some point. The point is that if I decide to splurge, I’ll do it in style!
  • Learn to crochet – this is the year I finally do it. The ambition for next year is to learn enough o I can crochet christmas snow flakes for next years tree.
  • Pattern release – Releasing a pattern was real fun, even if it was just basic socks. I have plenty of ideas, so I’m hopeful I can release at least one pattern during 2016.
  • Sewing – I’m not very good at it. I should work on that. The goal is to sew at least one child clothing piece (I bought the perfect book for it this year), and I also saw some very pretty christmas bowls which where quite inspiring for next year’s festivities.

So there it is. My resolutions for next year. On a more personal level I’d also like to take my driver’s license (I live in Stockholm, and haven’t had the need until now, nothing strange about that), and excersice more. I know the last one is a bit of a clichée, but after having HELLP syndrom, I actually have twice the risk of getting heart disease or other vascular diseases such as stroke, so good habits are a necessity. What are your new years resolutions?

This entry was posted in knitting, sewing, yarn and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New years resolutions crafting style

  1. Pingback: Summarizing 2015 – year of yarn and birth | The everyday life of a nerdy knitting junky

Leave a Reply

