Homelessness and summertops

So I’m moving in about two weeks. After we finally sold our house we thought the tough part was over. But I guess things never really go as planned. During the long weekend our contractor called us, to tell us that our house was pretty much drenched in water. The entire first floor had to be ripped out, dried and rebuilt. It turns out a construction error caused a pipe to burst. It wasn’t the first time it happened. Another family in the same community had the same wonderful surprise. One would think, that in making a mistake the first time, one would learn something from that mistake and be more vigilant and test the pipes before building walls and floors and somesuch, but I guess tight budgets and deadlines make people forget, that the cost of doing things right, is less than the cost of fixing mistakes later. I rant on such things in my work life very often, and I’m very familiar with the problem.

I, however, am feeling the panic settle in, as I have no idea where I’m going to be living in two weeks, with two small kids. Moving is hard enough without all the crap, and now it’s just gotten way worse. The process will take a few months, so we won’t be able to move into our new home for probably at least three months. The problem isn’t that we’ll be entirely homeless, there are safeguards in place for that, the problem is uncertainty. Not knowing what’s going to happen, how we’re going to live, where all our stuff will be, is like pausing your entire life for a few months. We can’t make any plans, we have to cancel existing plans, and we’re having trouble seeing the end of all this. My worst nightmare is to be stuck in a stuffy little hotelroom with two crazy kids all summer.

We where hoping to meet our neighbors, have our kids play with their kids and thus survive the lack of day-care during these summer months. Now it looks bleak. We might or might not get to move into a similar house in the area, if the first family who had house troubles can move into their own home. But we won’t know for a while, and that’s incredibly stressful. We might be going to France just to take the edge off, get some help from my in-laws with the kids, but we can only stay for so long before driving each other mildly crazy.

In the mean-time I’m desperately trying to relax. Knitting furiously, having the occasional cigarette and glass of wine. Knitting is better and more healthier. I’m thinking about where to pack my immediate knitting needs (like that’s first on the prio list, haha). I have loads of yarn, even though I haven’t bought anything since I started working. I’m furiously knitting away at my denim-blue Emelie cardigan, but since I might not have anywhere to block anything, I’m also starting to swatch for other projects to keep me busy during summer. I’m in the mood for fancy summer tops. And I have the yarn to use it. So, I give you my list of summer top cravings:

  • Bonny by Tincan knits. It’s so pretty and fluffy. And I just happened to have two skeins of dark blue Malabrigo lace lying around.
  • This pretty linen tank from Sandnes Garn. They’re not good at naming their projects, but they do have some nice things. I bought this exact Linen yarn last year, during my post-hospitalization shopping spree. Now is the time to use it.
  • Hane because one can’t have too much linen-wear during spring and summer. This top is perfect for the office and can be worn with a nice pencil skirt or with jeans. I have several skeins of Kalinka, in a grey-blueish color. I contemplated turning this into a dress, since I have much more yardage than required for that particular top, but I don’t want a forever project, so I’m going to stick with just the top.
  • Lastly, I’ve been looking for a vintag-y type top to do with the left-over yarn from my turquoise praline cardigan (which I still haven’t gotten around to taking photos off, despite wearing it weekly). The yarn has this nice vintag-y feel to it. The kind of yarn that my grandmother had all kinds of fancy tops in. I have a specific design in mind, and the closest thing I’ve gotten to it, is this vintage pattern of a lace top.

As you can see, despite all kinds of problems, there’s nothing wrong with my knitting inspiration. I think on the contrary, as always, when life throws me a curve-ball, it’s what’s grounding me and keeping me sane. What would I ever do without knitting?

This entry was posted in knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Homelessness and summertops

  1. Elaine says:

    I’m sorry to hear that. 😦 It will be fine it is only temporary. Hope that they can help you with housing. They should.
    However, Im guessing we will be neighbours soon, unless that exact thing happenend two families in the same time. You are very welcome. We have a goodwill community and The kids are running and playing all the time.

    • tuathaa says:

      Sounds great! We’re hoping to end up in the area at least, if we can’t move into the house! That way we can at least hang out in the playground.

  2. polwygle says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your moving woes. Mine are very similar right now. I just got back from a six week stay at my parents and am preparing myself mentally to move into a house qualifying to be on “fixer upper.” Hugs and strength to you. We can do it.

Leave a Reply

